Baseball       Football       Inline Hockey       Hockey      3 on 3 Hockey       Lacrosse       School Sports       Soccer       More Sports       Magazine     Features

Sarnia Ladies Jr. Sting Atom C Team Captures Gold Medal at Provincials

May 1, 2012

The Sarnia Jr. Lady Sting Atom C Hockey Team recently competed at the OWHA Provincial Championships in Toronto and captured the gold medal defeating the Nepean Wildcats by a score of 2-1 in the championship game.  The team went undefeated with a record of 5-0-1 over the three day tournament.

The Lady Sting opened the tournament with a 2-1 victory over the North Bay Ice Boltz and followed that up with a 2-2 tie against the Stratford Aces.  In the second game, the team battled hard to score a late goal to earn the tie.  On Saturday, the team skated away with a 2-1 victory over Nepean to earn first place at the end of pool play.

In the quarter-finals, the Lady Sting faced the Mt. Brydges Cougars and cruised to a 2-0 victory securing a birth in the semi-finals.   In the semis, the Lady Sting skated hard and earned a 2-0 victory over the Kanata Rangers setting up a rematch against Nepean in the Championship Game.  The team saved its best hockey for the finals and celebrated the Gold Medal victory during an emotional on-ice medal ceremony.

Earlier in the season, the Lady Jr. Sting won tournaments in Mitchell and Stratford and were tournament finalists in the annual Mississauga Chiefs Christmas Classic.  During the regular season, the team competed in a combined league of B and C Atom teams and finished second overall in league play.  In league playoffs, the Lady Sting lost in the third and final game of the championship series against the South Huron B Team.

Team members include:  Lindsey Barwitzki, Jadyn Clarke, Abby Clouse, Taylor, Coutts, Erin Ellis-Parr, Maddie Gould, Sarah Heath, Claire Heggie, Tori Iacobelli, Paula Jackson, Emma L’Heureux, Sydney Rogers, Juliette Rossi, Hannah Thompson, Kaylee White and Abbie Williams.  Head Coach was Erin White with assistants LeeAnn Ellis, Chris Gould, Errin Heath, Tim L’Heureux and Chad Williams.  The team was managed by Joanne Millman and the trainers were Nancy Barwitzki, Jen Rogers and Caroline White.