Baseball       Football       Inline Hockey       Hockey      3 on 3 Hockey       Lacrosse    Rugby    School Sports       Soccer       More Sports   Ultimate Frisbee      Newspaper     Features


Sarnia Saints Hold Year End Awards Banquet

November 18, 2012 

Sarnia, On - The Sarnia Saints concluded their 2012 season with their annual awards banquet at Huron Oaks on Saturday night.


To start off the awards presentation Ryan Mortensen (r) who had returned from league meetings presented to John Mortensen the Niagara Rugby Referee Society Annual Club Award.  The Club was selected by the referee society on how they act and treat the referees on and off the field.  This set's a standard for all members in the league.


Ladies Team Captain Mandy Milliquet accepted the Team award from incoming President Chris Groombridge for winning the 2012 NRU "B" League Champions.  The Ladies team went undefeated with a record of six wins and one tie in the season.  Nine members of the Women's team were selected to the Leagues All Star Team. Members include: Daria Keane, Shelane Stuart, Carley Devlin, Lisa Oleniuk, Mandy Milliquet, Jess Caccarato, Brianne Belanger and Sarah Mimnagh.

Milliquet continued with presenting the Woman's Awards.

Most Improved - Ann Groulx

Woman of the Year - Shelane Stuart


Most Valuable Player - Daria Keane

Past Captains - Mandy Melliquet
presented by Nick Powell

 Not in attendance at the awards banquet earning the Rookie of the Year award was Jess Naccarato.



For the Men's side 2012 President Ryan Mortensen presented the awards.  The Men's Premier Division record for the 2012 season was 8 - 6.  They were seeded 12th heading into the final rounds and ended up in 8th place overall in Ontario.  The second team went 10 - 2 for a second place division finish.  Making the presentations was 2012 Club President Ryan Mortensen and Club Captain Tyler Boyd.


The Awards were presented to:


Diadora Award - Steve Young

Front Row Flare - Mike Hart

Vigness Award - Billy O'Mahony

Club Man of the year - Craig MacKenzie

Rookie of the Year - Andrew Harpell

Most Improve - Ethan Smith (L)
Rookie of the Year - Andrew Harpel (R)

Legacy Plate - Bryan Wearer

Most Improved Club - Dylan Cullis

MVP Premier - Mac McGuire

MVP Second Division - Nick Powell

It was announce that Chris Groombridge will be heading the club as Club President for the 2013 season along with 2013 Club Captain Mac McGuire.


"We had a great year, and we have some great achievements throughout the year." said incoming President Chris Groombridge referring to the MS Fundraiser that was held earlier in the year and the great showing both women and men's teams had throughout the season.


For the upcoming year Groombridge indicated that the club is considering fielding one more team for the men's side and adding a U18 teams for both Men and Women.  Also the Club will be deciding where the Woman's side will play next season as they have been invited to play at a higher level.  The Club is also considering sending the junior program on tour that could include Europe next season as well.


"There will be some turnover with the coaches" said Groombridge "It's a big commitment on their part, we have a couple of fellows who want to do something else for the club next year so we are going to let them, were not going to let them quit. We have some other fellows working towards their coaching certification and I expect it to be a lot of the same personalities. It will be positive.  The women's side has already started to talk about who they are going to have coach. It's going to be exciting."











1999 - 2012 - All rights reserved

About Us       Contact       Jobs