Home   Baseball    Football    Inline Hockey    Hockey   3 on 3 Hockey    Lacrosse    Rugby    School Sports   Soccer  Ultimate Frisbee     


Hiawatha 3 on 3 Wraps up Another Successful Ball Hockey Tournament

Tuesday april 23, 2013

The 2nd annual Hiawatha 3 on 3 ball hockey tournament was a success despite cool temperatures. Ninety five teams and 600 participants competed in 167 games of ball hockey.

submitted photo
Novice Division Champions "The Rebels (Team Gawne)

In the Novice Division the Rebels (team Gawne) went undefeated going 4 - 0 heading into the final where they defeated the Ninga Stars 10 - 2 to take the Novice Cup.  Members on the team included, Turner Jenkins, Owen Pereira, Matthew Anderson, Logan Woods and Adam Maitland.


The Hat Trick Heros went 3 - 0 in round robin action and went on to edged out Team Foster 4 - 2 in the final to take the Atom Division title.  Members of the Hat Trick Heros were, Sebastien Frenette, Nicholas Medeiros, Kaden Gray, Carson Peer, Owen Peters, Derek Esselment and Austin Harper.


In the Peewee division Team Lights Out started the tournament taking a loss, but went on and won 4 consecutive games to earn a spot in the final where they took a 5 - 1 win over the Lucky Pucks.  Cameron Adam, Alec Trusler, Joe Correia, Jordon Hurtubise and Joey Ferrera were the members of the Peewee Championship team.

Team Fazio
Bantam Division Champions

Bantam's Fazio Flyers went undefeated in the tournament to win the Bantam Division Title.  In the final they flew over Team Black Ice to win with a final score of 11 - 3.  Competing for the Flyers were John Fazio, Tyler Armitage, Franco Sproviero, Alec DeKoning, Brock Perry and Ethan Dupont.

Dirty Mike and the Boys with members Joey Austin, Ben Scott, Kyle Smith, Jack Rumphf, Mark McLachlin, Pat Nahmabia and Riley Eyne went 4 - 0 heading into the Midget final game.  In the finals Dirty Mike and the Boys defeated Blazey and the Boys by a final score of 5 - 2 to take home the Midget Championship Cup.


Adult Champions The Fish-Hookers
The Cup was seen at the Legionnaires Banquet after the tournament.


In the Adult Division the 2012 Champions The Fish-Hookers returned to defended their title and were successful going undefeated in the tournament.  In the final game the Fish-Hookers defeated Team For the Win 8 - 4 to take home the title for the second year.  The team was made of players with familiar names from the Sarnia Legionnaires and Mooretown Flags that included Steve Farlow, Jeff Paulley, Brent Sauve, Jason Teschke, Nathan Mater, Josh Teschke and Derek D'Andrea.







1999 - 2013 Sarniasports.com - All rights reserved

About Us       Contact       Jobs