Home   Baseball   Bowling  Football    Hockey   3 on 3 Hockey    Lacrosse    Rugby    School Sports   Soccer  Ultimate Frisbee     

Dundas Real McCoys Win 2014 Allan Cup

saturday april 19, 2014


DUNDAS, Ont. – For the first time ever, the Dundas Real McCoys have won the Allan Cup, claiming Canada’s 106th National Senior Championship with a 3-2 overtime victory over the Clarenville Caribous in Saturday’s championship game at J.L. Grightmire Arena.


Randy Rowe scored the game-winning goal 13:42 into the extra period, making Dundas the fifth host team in the last decade to win the national championship, and second in as many years; the Bentley Generals won on home ice last year.


Saturday’s game was just the third Allan Cup championship game to go to overtime since the tournament went to a single-game final in 1992; the Île-des-Chênes North Stars beat the Stony Plain Eagles 3-2 in double overtime in 2003, and Bentley beat the South East Prairie Thunder 4-3 in double overtime in 2009.


Darryl Smith had both goals in regulation time for the Real McCoys, who were making their first-ever appearance in the championship game, while Mike Mole finished with 51 saves in the Dundas goal.


Cam Fergus scored twice, both on the power play, for the Caribous, who lost in the championship game for the second year in a row. Clarenville goaltender Jason Churchill stopped 38 of 41 shots.


The Allan Cup is one of the oldest club-team hockey competitions in North America, having been first competed for in 1908. Only once in the past 106 years, in 1945, has an Allan Cup champion not been crowned.


Locally the Petrolia Squires won the cup twice in 1979 and 1981 and runners up in 1982, 2001.


Clarenville, N.L., will host the 2015 Allan Cup next April.



Sarniasports.com is hosted by

Sarnia Lambton Internet & Computer Centre




© 1999 - 2014 Sarniasports.com - All rights reserved

About Us       Contact       Jobs