Archives   Baseball   Bowling  Football    Hockey   3 on 3 Hockey    Lacrosse   Soccer   Lambton College-Basketball

'05 Sharks Win Championship in Over-Time
May 12, 2015

submitted photo

The 2005 Bluewater Sharks hockey team captured their host tournament in exciting fashion by defeating Power Edge Pro, out of London, by a score of 5-4 in overtime.   Power Edge Pro had defeated the Sharks 3-0 in round robin play, but the Sharks avenged the earlier defeat when it counted.  This was the Sharks third Championship of the spring in as many tries.

Caiden Smit, earned Tournament MVP honours and handled the goaltending duties for the win.  Rorey Elson scored the game winner during 3 o 3 on overtime.    Ryan Pageau led the attack with two goals and an assist.  Calder Winegard and Garrett Pearce each contributed with a goal and an assist.  Jaxon Priddle and Aaron Highfield picked up single assists.

The Semi-Final game versus the Bluewater Stars was another exciting game as the Sharks held on to a 1-0 win to advance to the Finals.  Rorey Elson scored the lone goal with assists from Landon Buckingham and Ben Sottosanti.  Smit earned the shutout.

During round robin play the Sharks were seeded second with a record of 2 wins and 1 loss. 

Game 1 saw the Sharks defeat the Bluewater Stars, from Port Huron, by a score of 4-1.  Scoring for the Sharks were Ryan Pageau, Evan Morningstar, Rorey Elson and Garrett Pearce.  Assists went to Pearce, Morningstar, Logan O’Leary-Dilosa, Isaac Oliphant and Landon Buckingham x2,   Smit got the win between the pipes.

The Sharks trounced PPH Prospects from Windsor 6-2 game 2.  Scoring for the Sharks were Elson x2 Priddle x 2  Calder Winegard and Aaron Highfield.  Assists went to Pageau x2, Doan x2, Calder Winegard, Morningstar and Ryan Vidler. Caiden Smit earned the shut out.

Game 3 was the Sharks only defeat of the season, as they were shutout 3-0 by Power Edge Pro.  Smit was strong in net, but the Sharks could not find the back of the net.

The Sharks are off until May 22nd when the travel to Niagara Falls for the Niagara Battle tournament.







© 1999 - 2015 - All rights reserved

About Us       Contact       Jobs