Legionnaires Annual Awards Banquet

Sunday May 1, 2016

By Dan McCaffery

Brandon Layman - Most Valuable Player

Brandon Layman was the big winner Saturday when the Sarnia Legionnaires held their annual awards banquet.

Layman, who finished his Jr. 'B' hockey career this past season, was named the club's Most Valuable Player.

The honour came after a campaign in which he scored at slightly better than a point-per-game pace, picking up 52 points in 50 contests. Included in his total were 24 goals, which tied him for top Legionnaire marksman with teammate Ryan Vendramin.

Ryan Vendramin - Top Scorer

Vendramin, who had more assists than Layman, was honoured as the squad's top point-getter. In all, he had 24 goals and 43 helpers, giving him a total of 67 points.

Other winners included:

Hunter Tyczynski - Spirit Award

Spirit Award: This went to Captain Hunter Tyczynski, the Petrolia resident who had 25 points, despite missing eight games to injury.

Jordan Fogarty - Most Dedicated Player

Most Dedicated Player: Jordan Fogarty won the trophy after finishing third in team scoring with 44 points.

Rookie of the Year - Jarret Marks far right and Joey Zappa (missing)

Most Improved Player: Rookie forwards Jarret Marks and Joey Zappa shared this honour. Marks had eight goals and 11 assists, while Zappa, a defensive specialist/penalty killer, had a pair of tallies and two helpers.

Alex DeKoning - MVP Playoffs

MVP of the Playoffs: Alex DeKoning took home the hardware in this category after racking up seven points in seven post season games, including five goals and two assists.

Rookie of the Year Brock Perry and Eric Marsh

Rookie-of-the-Year. Brock Perry and Eric Marsh shared the honours here. Perry, a forward, had 16 goals and 24 assists, despite missing a month with a broken wrist. Marsh was one of the club's more steady rearguards. He also chipped in with four goals and seven assists.

Top Defenceman - Brad Yowart

Top Defenceman: Brad Yowart won the award after a season in which he blinked the red light 10 times and set up 18 other tallies. Yowart also anchored the power-play, collecting most of his points while Sarnia enjoyed a man adventage.

Peoples' Choice - P.J. Vandervaart

The Peoples' Choice Award: Rugged forward P. J. Vandervaart won this trophy, which is voted on by fans. Vandervaart, who was perhaps best known for sticking up for smaller teammates, had one goal and four assists.

Volunteer of the Year: This went to the army cadets of the First Hussars, who helped out at Legionnaire home games.

Six Legionnaires were given team jerseys after wrapping up their junior careers. They included Ryan Trottier, Konnor Roskovich, Fogarty, Vendramin, Layman and Vandervaart.

Head coach Mark Davis told the crowd at Branch 63 of the Royal Canadian Legion that his goal is to win a championship with the club. “We have unfinished business,” he said.




© 1999 - 2016 Sarniasports.com - All rights reserved